Why is C++14 mode satisfied with -std=c++1y?

Hi,

I’m just getting started with CMake and have come upon a corner case related to C++14 support with older compilers.

My target platform (RHEL 7) ships with G++ 4.8.5, which does not support C++14 completely. It provides the -std=c++11 option for C++11 support, and the -std=c++1y option for “The next revision of the ISO C++ standard, tentatively planned for 2017. Support is highly experimental, and will almost certainly change in incompatible ways in future releases.”.

But -std=c++1y does not enable full C++14 support with this compiler. For example, using digit separator like int oneMillion = 1'000'000; is not supported by G++ 4.8.5 in any mode. But that feature is part of C++14 standard.

I’ve used these lines in my CMakeLists.txt file:

set(CMAKE_CXX_STANDARD 14)
set(CMAKE_CXX_STANDARD_REQUIRED True)
set(CMAKE_CXX_EXTENSIONS FALSE) # just to get c++1y instead of gnu++1y - it doesn't affect the actual problem

CMake does not throw any error when using this file with G++ 4.8.5; it simply call g++ with -std=c++1y option. And then at compile time g++ will throw an error because it does not support that digit separator syntax.

How can I get CMake to require a C++14 compatible compiler version instead? I have the DevToolSet7 compiler installed (G++ 7.3.1) alongside, and I want to make sure that CMake throws an error if I accidentally use the old system compiler instead.

I’ve noticed that I can explicitly require this particular C++ feature by adding the line target_compile_features(Tutorial PRIVATE cxx_digit_separators). But I think it somewhat makes the set(CMAKE_CXX_STANDARD 14) line useless if I also have to explicitly specify all the features I expect from C++14 standard?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Oliver

PS: I’ve used CMake 3.7.1, but also tried CMake 3.17.3, and this behavior occurs with both versions.

@robert.maynard