What's the best way to add thirdparty lib with existing makefile?

Hi there,

I’m new to CMake, and I’m currently trying to add a third-party library into my CMake project. My problem is that this third-party library only builds on Linux and comes with its own makefile. I figure this is probably a common situation and many have run into, and wonder if there is a idiomatic way to do this?

What I’m currently doing is use add_custom_target where I call the make command to generate the lib.a file. However, my understanding is that add_custom_target only generate utility target which can’t be linked to. So I have my main target link to the lib.a file explicitly, like this: target_link_libraries(MY_TARGET PRIVATE lib.a).

Is this the right way to do it?

Hi.

Regarding the “link to the target” bit: you can create an IMPORTED target for that 3rd-party library. I would personally do that in your situation. This will allow you to add usage requirements (e.g. defines, include directories) to the target and have them propagate automatically via linking, and generally allow you to treat the library as a target in your CMake code. It could look like this:

add_custom_target(BuildTheLib ALL
  COMMAND make ...
  # (as you have now)
)

add_library(TheLib STATIC IMPORTED)
set_target_properties(TheLib
  IMPORTED_LOCATION ${CMAKE_CURRENT_BINARY_DIR}/path/to/lib.a # Make sure to use absolute path here
  INTERFACE_INCLUDE_DIRECTORIES ${CMAKE_CURRENT_SOURCE_DIR}/lib_include
  INTERFACE_COMPILE_DEFINITIONS "USING_THELIB;THELIB_STATIC"
)
add_dependencies(TheLib BuildTheLib) # So that anyone linking against TheLib causes BuildTheLib to build first

target_link_libraries(MY_TARGET PRIVATE TheLib)

(The values of the properties written above are just examples, naturally, and should be modified or removed based on your actual situation).

Feel free to look into the documentation of imported targets and IMPORTED_* properties to learn more about what you can do with them.