toolchain swapping combined with FetchContent feature

Hi all.

I’m new in cmake so maybe my question sound kinda dummy.

I’m dealing with a 3rd part dependencies. For those dependencies I use the fetchContent to deal with the them. Each depenency have a code similar to this

message("Adding library A...")
include(FetchContent)
FetchContent_Declare(librarya
        GIT_REPOSITORY "https://gitpath/dependency_a.git"
        GIT_TAG "main"
)

FetchContent_GetProperties(librarya)
if(NOT librarya_POPULATED)
    message("not found, downloading...")
    FetchContent_Populate(librarya)
    add_subdirectory(${librarya_SOURCE_DIR} ${librarya_BINARY_DIR})
endif()
message("Lib found, adding...")
FetchContent_MakeAvailable(librarya)

set(LIBRARYA_INCLUDE_DIRS ${librarya_SOURCE_DIR}/include)
include_directories(${LIBRARYA_INCLUDE_DIRS})

Now my problems come when I try to swap between toolchains. Until now we never use more than a simple toolchain with gcc (I never set by myself I just have the CC and CXX set into $ENV) , but now we need also intel compilator, and swap depending on the machine to run. When I try to set the icpx and icx I have a problem each time the FetchContent_Populate run thow and error because they remove the actual toolchain and cannot find the new compilers.

I found that this MR https://gitlab.kitware.com/cmake/cmake/-/merge_requests/8248/diffs talk about remove the cache because we need to download.

I’m not pretty sure at this point where I need to upload the the toolchain file, as well how dynamically select witch toolchain use based on the parent project toolchain.

I can send a MR to the libraries teams, to include changes changes into the library, so I find kind of “bad practice” to hardcode into the CMakeList.txt after I populate.

file(READ ${gtest_SOURCE_DIR}/CMakeLists.txt gtest_CMakeLists)
    # I want to avoid this kind of practice
    string(FIND "${gtest_CMakeLists}" "CMAKE_POLICY(SET CMP0048 NEW)" CMP0048_FOUND)