Source directory does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt?

I am not sure why I am getting an error when I try this command:

cmake -D OpenBLAS_DIR=/usr/local/opt/openblas -D CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=RELEASE …

It then says:

CMake Error: The source directory “/Users/biancacaproni” does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt.

Then, when I try this command:

cmake -D OpenBLAS_DIR=/usr/local/opt/openblas -D CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=RELEASE .

It says:

CMake Error: The source directory “/Users/biancacaproni/build” does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt.

However, when I am in the “build” folder, I see CMakeLists.txt in there.

I am trying to run OpenFace 2.0 from GitHub if that context helps. I have zero experience with CMake so any help would really, really be appreciated.

1 Like

Could you post your entire cmake configure command line? Are there symlinks involved here at all? It seems odd that CMake thinks your home directory is the source directory. Surely that’s not what is actually intended?

Could you explain what you mean by cmake configure command line?

Here is an image of what I had typed in the original post:

Ah, yeah, that works. Your post has ... which made me think you were eliding them. You need to pass the path to the OpenFace directory that you cloned.

Okay! Thank you. How do you go about doing that?

Presumably you cloned OpenFace somewhere. Replace it in the script with this:

git clone https://url/for/openface.git openface
cd openface
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -D… ..

Thank you so much!

I am also facing the same problem. I am trying to install Geant4. and getting this error.

CMake Error: The source directory “/home/rubayet/softwaress/geant4/Geant4-11.1.1-Linux” does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt. Specify --help for usage, or press the help button on the CMake GUI.

I CAN’T SEE ANY CMakeLists.txt IN THE BUILD FOLDER. PLEASE HELP.

There shouldn’t be one in the build folder; it lives in the source folder. What command(s) did you attempt?