Running commands on all targets linked against another target

I have some binaries that are linked against some libraries most are now set to be interface libs.

I’d like to add some extra postbuild commands to these targets that fix rpath stuff on mac os for instance. I can write a function that I call on my target ofcourse that runs a few add_custom_commands to fix everything. But I’d prefer this to happen automagically when I link against a library that would require this.

So far I haven’t found an option to do this but I’m no CMake expert…

I would initially look at the rpath handling logic that CMake has to solve this issue, instead of rolling your own.

If you actual use case is more extensive, you might be able to use a POST_BUILD step on your executables that does your fix up. To get the set of libraries you have linked against you could look at file(GET_RUNTIME_DEPENDENCIES ( https://cmake.org/cmake/help/v3.16/command/file.html#get-runtime-dependencies ).

Such as? If your dependencies are using @rpath/, you’ll need to add the appropriate path for them to your INSTALL_RPATH property. I want CMake to eventually help figure this out, but it’s not there yet. If you have libraries which have relative path library IDs, I suggest fixing them in the upstream; those libraries are basically just broken.

If you want to rewrite things to use @executable_path/ and @loader_path/, I suggest setting up the INSTALL_NAME_DIR property to do that correctly. On install, you can use file(GET_RUNTIME_DEPENDENCIES) to find dependent libraries and when you install those that you want to install, you can fix them up for the install tree there (plans for helper functions to do this is in my future roadmap, but there’s no schedule right now).