Project modularization using object libraries

Hello Everyone, I hope you’re all doing well!

While i have some experience developing, i’m still trying to get familiar with CMake and trying to come up with a practical layout for a kinda-large library i’m working on. It’s intended to be an open-source (not yet public though) library, ideally built statically, but allowing the end users to build dynamically as well.

The project will consist on:

• A main library (that should build either static or shared)
  • Bindings for python and other languages
  • Probably a native app that will use such library

The library is currently structured as follows:

/CMakeLists.txt
/include/main.hpp
/src/main.cpp
/basics/CMakeLists.txt
/basics/libA/CMakeLists.txt
/basics/libA/include/basics/libA
/basics/libA/src
/basics/libB/CMakeLists.txt
/basics/libB/include/basics/libB
/basics/libB/src

/examples/CMakeLists.txt
/examples/ex01.cpp

the Main library depends on libA which in turn depends on libB (both built as OBJECT libraries).

Code looks somewhat like this:

/basic/libA/CMakeLists.txt

add_library(A OBJECT)
target_include_directories(A include/)
target_sources(A PRIVATE src/a.cpp)

/basic/libB/CMakeLists.txt

add_library(B OBJECT)
target_include_directories(B include/)
target_sources(B PRIVATE src/b.cpp)
target_link_libraries(B PUBLIC A)

/basics/CMakeLists.txt

add_subdirectory(libA)
add_subdirectory(libB)

/CMakeLists.txt

add_library(main)
target_include_directories(main include/)
target_sources(main PRIVATE src/main.cpp)
target_link_libraries(main 
    PUBLIC A
    PUBLIC B)

/examples/CMakeLists.txt

add_executable(ex01 ex01.cpp)
target_link_libraries(ex01 main)

So far I was mostly working on writing logic, and unit tests. Since I’m linking the tests directly with object libs, everything was working smoothly. Now, when I decided to build an actual example using the library, things didn’t work unless I linked the example directly with ALL object libraries as well.