Organizing multiple CMake projects and dependencies, and what's wrong with linking libraries from CMake build dirs and never installing anything?

First off, I know similar questions have already been answered, but it’s a complex topic, and I have different requirements. The last person to ask this question comprehensively was, if you read the fine print, authoring libraries (plugin/mods) as his work product, to loaded in one exe. I’m consuming libraries, have multiple exe’s, and am interested in controlling disk space usage.

I’m a hobby game developer. Several libraries I use (or may use) across projects are very large. Ogre is 1.5 GB; QT5 is 2.6 GB, for example. My executable projects (game prototypes) consuming these dependencies are often exploratory efforts, so they are numerous and of both long and short project lifetimes. I don’t want to copy all these dependencies into every project that uses them.

I’m working on simplifying my workflow for creating new game projects. Currently I have all my library dependency folders at the same top-level as game executable projects all together under my CLionProjects/ folder. To make sure the libraries are found where I built them, I’ve been setting variables just above find_package, such as “OGRE_DIR” or “LIBXML2_INCLUDE_DIR” + “LIBXML2_LIBRARY” to point to libraries’ cmake-build-debug directories or *Config.cmake files. (It’s only just started to make sense to me, after recent reading, what the difference is between pointing to *Config.cmake scripts or setting variables directly; I arrived at the latter for LIBXML2 because I couldn’t get the former approach to work.)