Naming pattern for `Find*.cmake` module variables

Hi
I am still new to CMake, so apologies if I have missed something obvious

The find_package command (https://cmake.org/cmake/help/latest/command/find_package.html) doesn’t specify any conventions for the variables that Find*.cmake modules define.

For example:

• find_package(JPEG) sets JPEG_INCLUDE_DIRS
  • find_package(LibXml2) sets both LIBXML2_INCLUDE_DIR and LIBXML2_INCLUDE_DIRS
  • find_package(Ice) sets Ice_INCLUDE_DIRS
  • find_package(GLUT) sets GLUT_INCLUDE_DIR

Is there any published “official” naming pattern for variables set by custom Find* modules?

After analysing some of the modules in https://gitlab.kitware.com/cmake/cmake/-/tree/master/Modules most of them seem to follow these rules:

For find_package(<package>):

• <package> can be any case
  • <package>_FOUND is set if the package is found
  • uppercase(<package>)_LIBRARIES contains the path to link
  • uppercase(<package>)_INCLUDE_DIRS contains the folder for header files
  • Additional variables are in the form of uppercase(<package>)_*

My preference is to use the package name casing for everything and to provide targets rather than variables like _LIBRARIES or _INCLUDE_DIRS. A lot of CMake modules use various patterns or are trying to match what upstream packages now do; I don’t think they’re a good sampling of good practices unless it’s a brand new module that has no considerations for backwards compat.

OK, even if you use targets, you still might need variables for additional information like version numbers or for backwards compatibility.

There should be a recommend template for Find* modules, with a proper style guide.
That way, at least new modules will be consistent and old modules can slowly be updated to fit the style.

Yes, those make sense.

Yeah, this would be good to have. I think there’s an issue tracking CMake making better config.cmake files somewhere. Those guidelines are basically what you’re looking for here.