Multiple targets, propagate options to libraries, circular dependencies

Hello. Ok, I’m a total newbee with CMake. I need a little help to point me into the right direction to go. I must solve several problems:

1. I need to build to targets: Firmware and Bootloader. Both require different global build and link options. I understand that target_compile_options/definitions is the preferred way over add_compile_options/definitions. But I need to propagate the options/definitions to all components (libraries) built for the target. It seems that only the options are propagated to the dependant targets, not the oposite direction. Is there a way to build the libraries per target with the specific options?

2. For several libraries I need to specify additional compiler switches (-freestanding). Can I add these switches in the main project CMakeLists.txt file, and for a specific target?

3. One component is Operating System. The OS depends on headers/defines of adaptation layer (another component), but the adaptation layer depends on the headers of the OS. Actually there are more dependencies, like the adaptation component depends on additional components, etc. E.g I need to propagate the list of all include directories required by the adaptation layer back to the OS component, while the adaptation component needs to know the public include directories of the OS. The OS and the adaptation layer are defined in directories, each have its own CMakeLists.txt and project. How to solve the circular dependency?

The easies way that I can think of would be to use some global variables to propagate the options/include directories to the libraries, but I assume this is a way to hell.