Make a Windows app ready for the Microsoft Store

Hi. I’m new to using CMake to prepare an app for the Microsoft Store.

Can you help or direct me to a tutorial that walks through the process?

Background: I’m a Qt developer. I’ve published to the Microsoft Store using Qt’s old qmake build system but not CMake. And I’ve worked out how to publish to the App Store using Qt + CMake, which was not straightforward and involved help from @craig.scott and others.

CMake code:
Qt’s own documentation only goes as far as mentioning that I need to include

set_target_properties(MyApp PROPERTIES
    WIN32_EXECUTABLE ON
)

From my own research, I think that the following should package the AppxManifest.xml and associated assets, ready for the Microsoft Store, in this way… but I’m not sure:

set_property(SOURCE AppxManifest.xml PROPERTY VS_DEPLOYMENT_CONTENT 1)
foreach(asset ${ASSET_FILES})
    set_property(SOURCE "${asset}" PROPERTY VS_DEPLOYMENT_CONTENT 1)
    set_property(SOURCE "${asset}" PROPERTY VS_DEPLOYMENT_LOCATION "Assets")
endforeach()

Help requested:
I would be grateful for help with the following:

1. Any CMake commands that I ought to be including when prepping for the Microsoft Store.
  2. A tutorial of step by step process from running CMake to uploading the package.
  3. Any Qt-specific idiosyncrasies I should be aware of, or additional steps I should do.

Other useful info about my situation:

• I already have a Qt app that is complete and runs on Windows.
  • I have already prepared the AppxManifest.xml and assets (icons, splash screen).
  • I believe I need to run Qt’s windeployqt to compile a list of dependencies, so I have added that to my build steps.
  • When I used to build using qmake, I would get this far in Qt Creator and then finish off, packaging & code signing the app, within Visual Studio. I have Visual Studio Community 2022 installed, but I’m unclear whether/how I’ll need to use that now that I’m using CMake.