Is CMakeCCompilerId.c used on the target or host system? How to tell Cmake which build system to use?

Newbie here.

My question appears to be a variant of:

Cross compiling a Qt application for arm but the target rcc and moc executables are used instead of the host versions

My question is about specific operation of the Cmake operational process which I think is a narrower version of the same operational issue.

The description of Tool Chains is explicit about using it to describe the Target environment but says little ( that I could glean ) about the use or settings for the Host environment. This is important because it is unclear whether the files CMakeCCompilerId.c and/or CMakeCXXCompilerId.cpp are executed on the host or on the target. Their purpose/utility is not apparent to this reader. If they are to be executed on the host as I suspect then how does one tell CMake this? Currently, my cross compilation setup thinks both are to be executed on the target processor yielding the following error:

Compiling the C compiler identification source file "CMakeCCompilerId.c" failed.
Compiler: C:/VSARM/armcc/10 2021.10/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc.exe
Build flags: ;-mcpu=cortex-m0plus;-mthumb
Id flags:
The output was:
c:/vsarm/armcc/10 2021.10/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/10.3.1/../../../../arm-none-eabi/bin/ld.exe: c:/vsarm/armcc/10 2021.10/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/10.3.1/../../../../arm-none-eabi/lib/thumb/v6-m/nofp\libc.a(lib_a-exit.o): in function `exit':
exit.c:(.text.exit+0x18): undefined reference to `_exit'
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

This undefined reference error occurs for both c and cpp files although the compilation succeeds for both. So the questions are, Is my suspicion correct and if so how does one inform Cmake to use the host build process?