How to find OpenMP with clang on macOS

All,

I’m feeling really stupid right now. Not sure what I’m doing wrong. First, I’m a Fortran programmer, so I am not good at C. But, when I try and use OpenMP and Clang, I can’t seem to. Many things on line say I need to install libomp from brew but:

❯ brew install libomp
Warning: libomp 16.0.6 is already installed and up-to-date.
To reinstall 16.0.6, run:
  brew reinstall libomp

So I have it install. But CMake never seems to see OpenMP. I kept whittling down my CMakeLists.txt until I got to:

cmake_minimum_required(VERSION 3.24)
project(test LANGUAGES C)
find_package(OpenMP)

with clang I get:

❯ cmake -B build . -DCMAKE_C_COMPILER=clang
-- The C compiler identification is AppleClang 14.0.3.14030022
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/clang - skipped
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Could NOT find OpenMP_C (missing: OpenMP_C_FLAGS OpenMP_C_LIB_NAMES)
-- Could NOT find OpenMP (missing: OpenMP_C_FOUND)
-- Configuring done (2.0s)
-- Generating done (0.0s)
-- Build files have been written to: /Users/mathomp4/OpenMPTester/build

Is there something special I need to set in CMake to get this to work? Or is this just “Apple Clang be broken, sorry”?

If it matters, I’m on a M2 MacBook. Maybe this is an Arm thing?

I think it’s an Xcode thing. See this page.

@ben.boeckel Thanks for the pointer. For so long on my machines I’ve built (by hand) gcc. But in trying to make it easier for others I thought “Let’s just use clang for C”.

I’ll work with my admins and see if they can install that for testing. If we install it, does CMake have the magic inside to find and use it?

I have no idea. I don’t remember why that is in my browser history, but I don’t remember the results (if any) of testing its results.

Need to set OpenMP_ROOT on macOS to point to libomp. Details: OpenMP with CMake · GitHub

1 Like