Help with using Release/Debug for external dependency (Visual Studio CMAKE)

Hi there,

Apologies up front, I’m still learning CMake and using Visual Studio probably isn’t helping learn the basics (using it as its so good at debugging code).

I have a CMake project in Visual Studio and I’m linking to spdlog (performance logger). I checked out spdlog and used CMake-GUI to generate the make files. Then opened the VS solution files to build/install. Worth noting that even though CMake-GUI had CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE set to Release, that when I opened the generated files in VS, it was defaulting to debug. So I built as Debug (which also installed a cmake folder of cmake files and a pkgconfig folder), toggled it to Release and rebuilt (that built only the release lib file, but didn’t install the cmake/pkgconfig folder oddly and it built it into the src folder of spdlog not the installation folder).

I dropped the release build into the installation folder created by the debug build.

In my project CMakeLists.txt, I have

set(spdlog_DIR "C:/Work/Libs/spdlog/lib/cmake/spdlog")  
find_package(spdlog REQUIRED)

target_link_libraries(my-project PRIVATE spdlog::spdlog)

I also tried this as a test

target_link_libraries(my-project PRIVATE optimized spdlog::spdlog) 

but that seemed to do nothing.

I can build my project and use spdlog fine if my project (via VS UI) is in x64-Debug, but when I switch to x64-Release, I get linker errors and I can see it’s trying to link to spdlogd.lib (debug) not the spdlog.lib (release). Linker errors are
error LNK2038: mismatch detected for '_ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL': value '2' doesn't match value '0' in my-project.cpp.obj

I would have expected VS to pass the appropriate flags to CMake (or Ninja it seems - this bit confuses me) to link to the spdlog build type matching my project build type.