Creating Shared libraries and an executable

I’m a cmake newbie and I’m converting a rather large existing project to cmake so the basic tutorials don’t seem to help that much, so after Google and the help files, here I am…

The overall concept of the build is a small single file executable (essentially just a main()) and a series of shared libraries.

My main struggle now seems to be how to create the target so that it triggers the building of the libraries, but doesn’t explicitly link with them. What I get now is the creation of the .so libraries, however the executable attempts to also link together all of the object files from the libraries. Am I barking up the wrong tree here or should I separate the creation of the libraries into a new/separate cmake file?

More details available obviously, but I first wanted to see if what I am attempting is possible, and that is to (within the same build target, create .so libraries and dynamically link against them to create an executable).

Thanks

Use add_executable and add_library.

You can use add_dependencies if you don’t want to link/establish dependency using target_link_libraries.

My recommendation is this book: Professional CMake: A Practical Guide - 16th Edition

Ah, and it was as simple as that, thank you. And thanks, I’ll check out that book.

Ok, I guess I replied a bit prematurely.

Using the add_dependencies() does allow the separation between the executable and the libraries, so that is good, however the executable still contains the libraries.

I have defined my executable as:

add_executable( myexec EXCLUDE_FROM_ALL ${PROJECT_SOURCE_DIR}/main.cpp)

and added a library:

add_library(mylibA SHARED)
target_sources(mylibA PUBLIC Path/ToLibA/Source )
set_target_properties(mylibA PROPERTIES LINKER_LANGUAGE CXX)

as suggested, I then added a dependency on the library to the exec:

add_dependencies( myexec mylibA )