CPACK_GENERATOR( flatpak? )

I wonder if there’s a way from cmake to create a Flatpak release. I currently use the DEB, RPM and TGZ generators to distribute my software and I gather all DSO dependencies by running my own macro get_runtime_dependencies that fixes some issues and sorts out unneeded system DSOs from those actually needed from my application.

I have little to no knowledge of flatpak.and quite honestly, I would prefer to keep it that way. I would, ideally, like to just add CPACK_GENERATOR( Flatpack ) and be done with it.

Any chance of this happening soon for flatpack or for the competing snaps packages?

1 Like

I can’t comment on flatpak, but I can give an opinion regarding snaps (I’m the maintainer of the cmake snap). I don’t know that it makes sense for CPack to support snaps. A snap package isn’t normally just a case of wrapping an already-built set of binaries. Snaps are meant to be built from scratch with tools that ensure binary compatibility. They coordinate setting up and running the build in what effectively amounts to a virtual machine. The snap workflow wraps the build with its own logic and metadata. It’s quite a process. It isn’t meant to work as a post-build step, it controls the whole workflow from start to end.