Common files used by multiple targets

Hi, I’m trying to port a project from a custom build system that generate Makefile to CMake. I am a novice of CMake but I’m studying :stuck_out_tongue:

The project builds multiple executable and each executable is build from a set of *.cpp compiled with a common set of flags and definitions plus a specific set of *.cpp files compiled specifically for the executable. Right now the files compiled with the common set of flags are placed all in one place so that when all executables are built they will find object files already compiled by the previous executable (if they have files in common) but all the executable can be built individually if needed. I’m not sure how much compile time is saved with this but I wanted to try and keep it.

Right now I was thinking of something like:

Given the following structure:

β”œβ”€β”€ bar_main.cpp
β”œβ”€β”€ foo_main.cpp
β”œβ”€β”€ x
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_x_1.cpp
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_x_1.h
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_x_2.cpp
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_x_2.h
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_x_3.cpp
β”‚   └── file_x_3.h
β”œβ”€β”€ y
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_y_1.cpp
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_y_1.h
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_y_2.cpp
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_y_2.h
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ file_bar_1.cpp
β”‚   └── file_bar_1.h
└── z
    β”œβ”€β”€ file_foo_1.cpp
    └── file_foo_1.h

I had something like the following CMakeLists.txt:

cmake_minimum_required(VERSION 3.10)
project(testproject)

# definition of target foo
add_library(foo_common OBJECT x/file_x_1.cpp x/file_x_3.cpp y/file_y_1.cpp y/file_y_2.cpp)
target_compile_definitions(foo_common ...)

add_library(sfoo STATIC z/file_foo_1.cpp)
target_compile_definitions(sfoo ...)
target_link_libraries(sfoo PUBLIC foo_common)

add_executable(foo foo_main.cpp)
target_link_libraries(foo sfoo)

# definition of target bar
add_library(bar_common OBJECT a/file_x_1.cpp a/file_x_2.cpp y/file_y_1.cpp)
target_compile_definitions(bar_common ...)

add_library(sbar STATIC y/file_bar_1.cpp)