CMake selecting incorrect assembler

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to CMake and I encountered an issue with CMake filing to compile the test program when trying to setup a simple “hello world” CMake script on a (new) Redhat 8 machine. I want to use a different compiler instead of the default one. Specifically, I am trying to choose the gcc toolset 11. For this I use the recommended methods suggested here.

The CMakeLists.txt is

project(hello_world)
message(STATUS "Hello world!")

The command line call is:

cmake -G "Ninja Multi-Config" -D CMAKE_C_COMPILER=/opt/rh/gcc-toolset-11/root/bin/gcc -D CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER=/opt/rh/gcc-toolset-11/root/bin/g++ /path/to/cmakelists.txt

This produces an error and the command line output is:

-- The C compiler identification is GNU 11.2.1
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 11.2.1
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - failed
-- Check for working C compiler: /opt/rh/gcc-toolset-11/root/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /opt/rh/gcc-toolset-11/root/bin/gcc - broken
CMake Error at /u/location/of/cmake/cmake-3.24/Modules/CMakeTestCCompiler.cmake:69 (message):
  The C compiler

"/opt/rh/gcc-toolset-11/root/bin/gcc"

is not able to compile a simple test program.

It fails with the following output:

Change Dir: /u/location/of/cmakelists/temp_cmake_trial/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp

Run Build Command(s):/usr/bin/ninja cmTC_69185 && [1/2] Building C object CMakeFiles/cmTC_69185.dir/Debug/testCCompiler.c.o
    FAILED: CMakeFiles/cmTC_69185.dir/Debug/testCCompiler.c.o
    /opt/rh/gcc-toolset-11/root/bin/gcc -DCMAKE_INTDIR=\"Debug\"  -g -o CMakeFiles/cmTC_69185.dir/Debug/testCCompiler.c.o -c /u/location/of/cmakelists/temp_cmake_trial/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp/testCCompiler.c
    as: unrecognized option '--gdwarf-4'
    ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.

CMake will not be able to correctly generate this project.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:2 (project)