Building and running one test

I am new to CMake and a bit confused.

I can do this to build and run all of my tests: cmake --build _builds --target test

I can do this to build one of my tests: cmake --build _builds --target some-test

Is there a way to build and run a specific test, or perhaps a set of tests by some pattern (name patterns, etc.)?

Since cmake creates a ‘test’ pseudotarget I’m looking for a corresponding per-test pseudotarget like test:mytest that would build and run mytest.

I have attempted to understand what CTest is, what its build-and-test mode is (which sounds a bit like what I want?), etc. Its feature that reruns only failed tests looks interesting. But I am confused because most of the terminology is unfamiliar.

For background, I am used to Google’s bazel, where I can acomplish what I want with its build and test subcommands:

bazel build <targets>
bazel test <targets>

I’m also not using an IDE. All my cmake use is from the command line or by way of Emacs.

CMake does the build, but CTest does the testing. There’s no real “integration” at build time other than the test target that just calls ctest. The best that is available is ctest -R <regex>, but this doesn’t guarantee that anything used by those tests are up-to-date.

CTest doesn’t know about build targets and the generated build code doesn’t know how to run specific tests. This is because a test may have other properties set that cannot be fulfilled by the build tool. Some such items (though not exhaustive):

• WILL_FAIL: needs a wrapper command to detect failure and return success
  • {PASS,FAIL,SKIP}_REGULAR_EXPRESSION: needs a wrapper command to read the output and handle the state determination
  • SKIP_RETURN_CODE: what does it mean to skip via a build command?
  • ENVIRONMENT: also needs a wrapper
  • TIMEOUT: how will the build tool end a test after the timeout elapses?