Build external library in subdirectory

Hi,

First, I would like to say I’m new to using CMake to there might be an obvious solution to this that I’m missing.

I’m trying to build zstd to be used in Android with jni with the following CMakeLists.txt. I cloned the repository as a submodule into the zstd folder.

cmake_minimum_required(VERSION 3.9.0)

project(reactnativezstd)

set(BUILD_DIR ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/build)
set(CMAKE_VERBOSE_MAKEFILE ON)
set(CMAKE_CXX_STANDARD 11)

set(ZSTD_BUILD_PROGRAMS OFF) # Avoid  Target "zstd" of type EXECUTABLE may not be linked into another target error
set(ZSTD_LEGACY_SUPPORT OFF)

add_subdirectory(../zstd/build/cmake zstd)

add_library(reactnativezstd
        SHARED
            ../cpp/react-native-zstd.cpp
            cpp-adapter.cpp
        )

target_include_directories(
    reactnativezstd
    PUBLIC
        ../zstd/lib
        ../cpp
)

target_link_libraries(
    reactnativezstd
    PRIVATE
    zstd
)

However I keep getting the same error: ld: error: cannot find -lzstd

Any ideas of what I’m missing?

Here is the full error:

Build command failed.
  Error while executing process /home/julien/Android/Sdk/cmake/3.10.2.4988404/bin/ninja with arguments {-C /home/julien/Projects/react-native-zstd/android/.cxx/Debug/681tx4bf/armeabi-v7a libzstd_shared reactnativezstd}
  ninja: Entering directory `/home/julien/Projects/react-native-zstd/android/.cxx/Debug/681tx4bf/armeabi-v7a'
  [1/2] Linking CXX shared library ../../../../build/intermediates/cxx/Debug/681tx4bf/obj/armeabi-v7a/libreactnativezstd.so
  FAILED: ../../../../build/intermediates/cxx/Debug/681tx4bf/obj/armeabi-v7a/libreactnativezstd.so