Advice on C++20 modules (Boost)

Hi all,

I’m a Boost author exploring the possibilities offered by C++20 modules for our codebase. My objective is enabling my users to import my libraries, as per import boost.xyz. I’ve done some research (C++20 modules and Boost: an analysis) and the topic seems to have gained some traction on the Boost mailing list.

Our idea is to create a module interface unit per library, exporting what we currently have in our headers. We’d distribute both the headers (as we do today) and the new module code. Since BMIs seem pretty non-portable, we’d ask users to build these module unit themselves (as the standard libraries currently do).

Our official way of consuming Boost code is using CMake, so I’ve gone ahead and played with the new FILE_SET CXX_MODULES feature (which works great). I’m trying to figure out the best way to use this feature for our project:

• My first attempt was to build a library with a PUBLIC FILE_SET in our CMake, and then install() it, creating a package consumable with find_package. When the consumer uses it (using find_package, then linking against the IMPORTED module target), the module is built (good!). However, the module is built only once - if the users has two executables with BMI-incompatible build flags, the module can’t be used for both.
  • I then wrapped the code required to build a module library in a function that would be made available using find_package (C++20 modules and Boost: an analysis). This looks like a workaround, but allows for building the module as many times as required.
  • While the latter point works great for libraries without dependencies (I used standalone Asio as a playground), I don’t think it scales well to our complex dependency tree. As a user, I’d like to say “I need Boost.Beast” and get all of Beast’s dependent modules built automatically.

Do you have any advice the best way to achieve this?

Many thanks,
Ruben.

1 Like