add_custom_command OUTPUT problem (absolute path + ninja generator)

I’m creating custom commands with outputs, defined as:

C:/Projects/git/_obj/XXXX/gccarm/$<IF:$<CONFIG:RelWithDebInfo>,Release,$<CONFIG>>/BoardMix.hex

This triggers the following ninja error:

ninja : error : FindFirstFileExA(boardmix.hex ...): The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

It seems, that it cannot find BoardMix.hex (but converts the name to lowercase). The generated build.ninja contains:

#############################################
# Custom command for CMakeFiles\XXXX_leaf_gccarm

build CMakeFiles/XXXX_leaf_gccarm | ${cmake_ninja_workdir}CMakeFiles/XXXX_leaf_gccarm: CUSTOM_COMMAND BoardMix.hex$ ...

I’m no expert in build.ninja’s syntax, but it seems, that the generator replaces my absolute path by an invalid relative one.

The documentation to add_custom_command also mentions restrictions when using genexps in OUTPUT. But 1) it seems to be related to target-specific ones and 2) in my case the genexp forms only a part of the whole output path, so it should not be cut off completely.

Can you publish a CMakeLists.txt showing the problem?

Up to now, I wasn’t able to reduce the problem to something minimalistic.The custom commands and targets are generated in code from complex transformations of variables in a whole hierarchy of cmake projects.

Unfortunately, without more detail it’s hard to recommend anything specific. Things I would look for:

• where does the filename first show up as lowercase?
  • have you tried using absolute paths everywhere?
  • have you tried removing some of the genex complexity to rule errors in their usage?
  • are slashes uses consistently?

That’s what comes to mind right now at least.

PIFOM (problem in front of monitor):