Highly duplicate data in cmake_install.cmake files

Hi, I’m fairly new to cmake and using it in the project at work.

It mostly all seems good but whats bugging me is the amount of duplicate data that gets generated in the build folder, it seems for every cpp file a cmake_install.cmake file is created, which all contain the same project-wide parameters, as well as including sub-directory cmake_installs which also ultimately only contain parameters already defined on the higher level.

Is there no way to configure this so these don’t get generated for every file unless the file actually has a unique parameter that’s not yet set?

For example, cmake_install.cmake typically looks like:

# Install script for directory: /some/application/directory

# Set the install prefix

if(NOT DEFINED CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX)

set(CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX "/usr/local")

endif()

string(REGEX REPLACE "/$" "" CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX "${CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX}")

# Set the install configuration name.

if(NOT DEFINED CMAKE_INSTALL_CONFIG_NAME)

if(BUILD_TYPE)

string(REGEX REPLACE "^[^A-Za-z0-9_]+" ""

CMAKE_INSTALL_CONFIG_NAME "${BUILD_TYPE}")

else()

set(CMAKE_INSTALL_CONFIG_NAME "Debug")

endif()

message(STATUS "Install configuration: \"${CMAKE_INSTALL_CONFIG_NAME}\"")

endif()

# Set the component getting installed.

if(NOT CMAKE_INSTALL_COMPONENT)

if(COMPONENT)

message(STATUS "Install component: \"${COMPONENT}\"")

set(CMAKE_INSTALL_COMPONENT "${COMPONENT}")

else()

set(CMAKE_INSTALL_COMPONENT)

endif()

endif()

# Install shared libraries without execute permission?

if(NOT DEFINED CMAKE_INSTALL_SO_NO_EXE)

set(CMAKE_INSTALL_SO_NO_EXE "1")

endif()

# Is this installation the result of a crosscompile?

if(NOT DEFINED CMAKE_CROSSCOMPILING)

set(CMAKE_CROSSCOMPILING "TRUE")

endif()

# Set default install directory permissions.

if(NOT DEFINED CMAKE_OBJDUMP)

set(CMAKE_OBJDUMP "/usr/bin/objdump")

endif()

if(NOT CMAKE_INSTALL_LOCAL_ONLY)

# Include the install script for the subdirectory.