Adding new platform: AmigaOS4 (PPC)

Hi all,

I am a developer helping with the effort to port Webkit to the Amiga platform. To support this, we would also extend the support of CMake to the AmigaOS4 platform.

We have already a draft for a CMake Toolchain file at GitHub - 3246251196/CMAKE_AOS4. This toolchain file already works for simple projects.

While testing I encountered some issues trying to build a project with OpenGL; CMake cannot find the GL includes.

The SDK has multiple locations for third-party libraries (like OpenGL). The headers and libraries for the C runtime are in $SDK/local/$CRT, third-party libraries are in $SDK/local/common.

The GL/gl.h header resides in $SDK/local/common/include. We tried to configure this using
SET(CMAKE_FIND_ROOT_PATH ${SDK}local/${C_LIB}/;${SDK}local/common/) in the CMake toolchain file. But somehow CMake is looking in /bin/ for the headers:

find_path called with the following settings:

VAR: OPENGL_INCLUDE_DIR
NAMES: "GL/gl.h"
Documentation: Path to a file.
Framework
  Only Search Frameworks: 0
  Search Frameworks Last: 0
  Search Frameworks First: 0
AppBundle
  Only Search AppBundle: 0
  Search AppBundle Last: 0
  Search AppBundle First: 0
CMAKE_FIND_USE_CMAKE_PATH: 1
CMAKE_FIND_USE_CMAKE_ENVIRONMENT_PATH: 1
CMAKE_FIND_USE_SYSTEM_ENVIRONMENT_PATH: 1
CMAKE_FIND_USE_CMAKE_SYSTEM_PATH: 1
CMAKE_FIND_USE_INSTALL_PREFIX: 1

find_path considered the following locations:

/opt/ppc-amigaos/ppc-amigaos/SDK/local/newlib/opt/ppc-amigaos/bin/GL/gl.h
/opt/ppc-amigaos/ppc-amigaos/SDK/local/newlib/usr/local/sbin/GL/gl.h

/opt/ppc-amigaos/ppc-amigaos/SDK/local/common/include/opt/graphics/OpenGL/include/GL/gl.h

I am using CMake 3.28.3 on linux aarch64 (Raspberry Pi OS / Debian Bookworm).

Any hints would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Josef

Hi,

I added special handling for the Amiga platform in FindOpenGL.cmake to make it finding the correct headers and libs. This fixed the issue with the strange search path.